Abstract Chatter


Shipment 2/2 has arrived!
September 1, 2015, 12:51 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

A lost in translation moment:

I was chatting with our housekeeper over some gharam, gharam chai about what I thought was nursing (i.e. breastfeeding), but during the conversation –she thought I was talking about nursing, the profession. I guess i never learned the word ‘breastfeeding’ in my many years as a Hindi/Urdu speaker.

I went for a haircut and they had hip hop music on blast. It made me miss the states. It’s crazy how music can take you to another time and place. It can take you back to your high school days as you reminisce riding the bus staring out the window on your way to school, or your college days having jam out sessions with your girls. As complicated as life seemed to be back then, those days were just so simple. Maybe it’s the simplicity that I miss.

Being at the resort and seeing the ancient temples this weekend was quite nice. I was in such awe that I hardly took pictures. I do hope to go back and capture the sunrise across the bay. Around Maghreb time, the Adhan went on and it was kind of magical to hear. The infinity pool was directly in front of the Bay of Bengal and when you looked out, all you could see was the sea.

We go through a lot of toilet paper.

Our final shipment arrived today. Boxes upon boxes were flowing in. We have so much crap. Hoping this nomadic lifestyle will push me to simplify our lives. Having to unpack these boxes reiterates just how much ‘less is more.’ I can’t wait to start decorating the place and making it feel more like our home.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment