Abstract Chatter


I’m a “Ramadani”
May 26, 2017, 9:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Yeah, I said it. I memorize the Quran… during Ramadan.
I go to the mosque… during Ramadan.
I watch my language… mostly during Ramadan.
My heart softens…during Ramadan.

And each Ramadan, I’m reminded of some of the most beautiful, fundamental, and basic components of the religion. Without going too far into the Quran, you can find the simplicity that surrounds the religion.

We believe in Allah and that which is revealed unto us and that which was revealed unto Abraham, and Ishmael, and Isaac, and Jacob, and the tribes, and that which Moses and Jesus received, and that which the prophets received from their Lord. We make no distinction between any of them, and unto Him we have surrendered. (2:136)

Worship who you may. So pure. So basic.

But every time I hear of an attack by a “Muslim” on the innocent, a sense of confusion clouds my understanding of the beauty that I previously saw in the religion. It might not happen the first time, or the second or third… but eventually I ask– why is the religion that I hold so dear being snatched away from me? Time and time again.

I move further and further away from something that I want to love—  I become more distant as the interpretations get misinterpreted , as the people of the religion become misguided, and as the religion gets represented by men and women who bring terror to the innocent.

Maybe, this year I’ll start with gratitude. For all the things we can see and can’t see. I pray for everyone this Ramadan to be under Your protection and light.

Allahumma innaka ‘afuwwun tuhibbul ‘afwa fa’fu ‘annee (O Allah, indeed you are a Pardoner, and you love pardon, so pardon me.) 

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 11.56.43 PM

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

