Abstract Chatter


I respectfully disagree, sir.
November 21, 2011, 11:20 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

A sure sign of intellectual growth is when a person is able to translate frustration and/ or anger into constructive dialogue.  I felt this to be me (at least temporarily). Albeit an internal debate, but one nevertheless.  Here goes an attempt to air out my inner workings.

Yesterday evening I went grocery shopping. I wasn’t planning on getting that many items, so I opted for the shopping basket over the cart. Lo and behold, I began picking up more items than my basket could carry. So I did what I would’ve normally done. I did what I’ve normally done for the past two years here in Maryland. I started filling up my reusable bag and backpack with the remaining items, which didn’t fit into the basket. (D.C. initiated a 5 cent tax on plastic bags, which has promoted folks to use reusable bags much more ubiquitously. Maryland offers a 5 cent discount if you use your own bag.) So you’ll commonly find people putting items in their own bags.

Towards the middle of my shopping experience, I noticed two cops with bulletproof vests eyeing me for a good 10 minutes. The cops had no basket, and were clearly not there to shop. I didn’t think anything of it, simply because I was engulfed in my coupons, and calculating how much I could carry back go the apartment by myself.

As I headed towards the yogurt aisle, this elderly gentleman (who worked at the grocery store) proceeded to talk to me in Spanish. Given that I was born and raised in Texas, and took 6 years of Espanol, I felt perfectly comfortable conducting small talk. It was a typical conversation. He asked if I was from El Salvador. And inquired about how I knew Spanish if I myself was Pakistani. Then he spoke at super lightening speed. At this point, I had no idea what he was talking about. I placed a few sentences together, and gathered that the two cops thought I was stealing.

It all made sense. The cops were following me around because they thought I was thief. This would be the first time that someone has followed me around in a store. A terrorist, sure. But a thief? NEVER. Not in a million years. So of course, this situation got under my skin.

What upset me more was what took place after.

I come home, a bit peeved at what just took place. I tell my husband the story, and the conversation goes as such:

Me: blah, blah, blah.
W: Were you using your backpack?
Me: Yes, I was.
W: Well, that’s how most people steal. They put stuff in their carts, and then steal the rest of their items using their backpack.
Me: In my head I’m thinking, if they were actually paying some attention, they would have noticed that I was counting coupons! I don’t know about you, but to me, that’s not how I would characterize a thief.

So my husband thought the cops were just doing their job. (I’ve noticed that he has a tendency to side with the cops over people’s criticisms of them, but that’s a different blog for another day.) I on the other hand, felt that there was a certain level of prejudice to the predicament. There was preconceived bias against me. There’s no denying the fact that in the decade of wearing my scarf, or even in the two years that I’ve lived in Maryland, has anyone followed me around in such a manner. Is it all because I might have looked Hispanic, and was therefore a target?

Maybe I was a bit taken a back simply because I assumed that, by not wearing a scarf, I’d “blend in”. Not that I necessarily wanted to “blend in”. I have a huge sense of pride in my identity as a Muslim. But nevertheless, I falsely assumed that I wouldn’t be bothered. Oh, what an erroneous assumption that was. And perhaps naïve too.

So this leads me to wonder if anyone has done a comparative analysis of the average treatment of hijabi and a nonhijabi in various situations. It might look something like this:

  Hijabi Non-hijabi 
Airport Despite not having sounded off an alarm, and not having anything show up on the scanners, still taken to the side and patted down head to toe. ?
Club/Lounge “Well that’s a bit weird seeing a Muslim here. But I see guy with a turban so maybe “these guys” just really like to dance.”  ?
Grocery Store Nothing out of the ordinary. Followed by cops.

This of course, is a humorous version of what I had in mind but I think it has real potential.

Now I always knew that racism exists for all people. Not just Muslims. But to experience it in multiple contexts is unfortunate to say the least. My only desire is to be left alone, but given that this might not happen anytime soon, I will continue documenting my experience, with eyes wide open.


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I recently started wearing hijab, so I guess I can fill in some boxes for you haha. Flying domestically was fine, but coming back to the states when flying internationally was still a bit uncomfortable as a non-white person. I always felt scrutinized by the customs people, and I sometimes got patted down or had my stuff searched because I fit the drug mule profile (young Latina female traveling alone). Sometimes I got a few extra questions about my travels at customs. But overall, having a US passport meant life is good.

Biggest thing I’ve noticed as a Latina is an assumption that you’re poor. Walking into shoe or clothing stores and having the workers be dismissive of you because they assume you can’t afford to buy anything anyway.

Comment by SM

unfortunate assumptions indeed. Congrats on the hijab!

Comment by abstractchatter

weird- i have had the same experience on planes and grocery stores while wearing and not wearing hijab- not really being bothered at all. i may just be lucky. but i think it also has to do with how you are dressed, what bag you carry (e.g. backpack or not)- a lot has to do with assumptions based how people perceive your class based on speech, dress, etc.

Comment by ts

I don’t do hijab, but I get stopped at airports unless I’m traveling in the Middle East. Oh and upon returning to the US and within the US questioned. That said my orgin is South Asian/Middle Eastern w the U.S. passport.

Comment by mysteriouschronicles




Leave a comment